Schedule of Proficiency Exam Times

Email the Graduate Adviser, Prof. Poundie Burstein, one week before the exam to confirm that you will be taking the exams, and also to confirm which exams you will be taking. The proficiency exams are given only to those students enrolled in the graduate music program; for details, see Proficiency Exams.

Written Proficiency Exams

(music theory, music history, dictation, foreign language)

Proficiency Exam Dates:

2017
Tuesday, June 20 at 5:00pm (for Fall 2017)
Monday, August 21 at 5:00pm (for Spring 2018)
Saturday, October 28 at 12:00pm (for Spring 2018)
*Saturday, November 11 at 10:00am (for Spring 2018)

2018
*Monday, January 22 at 4:00pm (for Fall 2018)
Saturday, March 17 at 10:00am (for Fall 2018)
*Saturday, April 21 at 12:00pm (for Fall 2018)
*Saturday, May 5 at 10:00am (for Fall 2018)

Keyboard and Sight Singing Exams

Proficiency Exam Dates:

2017
Monday, August 21 at 5:00pm (for Spring 2018)
Wednesday, October 18 at 4:00pm (for Spring 2018)
Wednesday, December 13 at 10:00am (for Spring 2018)

2018
Wednesday, February 28 at 4:00pm (for Fall 2018)
Wednesday, May 16 at 10:00am (for Fall 2018)

 

*M.A. keyboard proficiency exam and written proficiency exam will be administered on these dates.